when we were young…

writing with passion, living with vision and acting with intention

Moments like these in toddlerville

Leave a comment

It’s a known fact that social media such as Facebook tends to be a place where we reveal our best moments, our kids’ best moments, our wittiest remarks or comments. Talk about the grass always looking greener on the other side! But we all know it’s an illusion, some people are just better at making the good look fantastic!

When I think about my life and what I share on Facebook, it tends to be a lot of the good moments. The happy, smiling, industrious kids and me the happy, fulfilled mother and wife. It’s true, overall. But for the times when I am at the grocery store and my almost two-year-old is having a colossal meltdown complete with screaming and trying to climb out of the buggy while sympathetic onlookers try to tell him everything’s okay, I just don’t have my camera ready to capture the agony and embarrassment. Now when this happens at home, well then I have the where with all to document it for my little fellow to marvel at in years to come. Yes son, this was you, every other day.

Image

Image

I don’t share this to poke fun. I can only try to imagine what in the name of bewildered mothers everywhere, is causing my little guy to transform from happy go lucky toddler to a snotty mess lying on the floor. This time, it might have been that I was not letting him on the bed since he didn’t have a diaper on. I’m reading a book called The Happiest Toddler on the Block and I am beginning to understand about how the left and right sides of the brain function in a little tyke. Now just to remember all that I’m learning and help my guy back to a calmer and less agitated state – if I don’t have a meltdown myself first!

For every meltdown though, there’s a moment of redemption that envelopes my heart with warmth and gratefulness. I discovered that I could spy on my son as he looked a books quietly by himself on the floor of his bedroom. There’s this air vent between my room and his so the picture only captures a fraction of what I was able to witness – the quiet contemplation on my boy’s face, his little fingers turning the pages slowly…

Image

Image

And there are the moments that are few and far between…

Image

Image

 

And then the more common….

Image

Image

I think it’s safe to say that for all the sleepless nights, tantrums, dumped bags of rice or what-have-you on the floor and any other misdemeanors the camera isn’t always ready to capture, the things that endure occur every day if only for a moment.

 

Author: whenwewereyoung...

A stay at home mom of two boys under two, love TED talks, swing dancing and of course, writing. When we were young is my sharing of motherhood, the beautiful, the ugly, the happy, the sad and the world my boys are growing up in.

Leave a Reply

